Monday, January 1, 2018

2017 Debut Author Challenge

 Hosted by ThatArtsyReaderGirl

1. All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

2.

3.
4.
5.

2017 New Release Challenge


2017 New Release Challenge

Hosted by Lexxie @ Un-Conventional Book Views & Stormi @ Books, Movies, Reviews Oh My!

The rules for the 2017 New Release Challenge are simple:

Books have to be released and reviewed in 2017.
Other challenges can be used as well, if you are participating in the Netgalley / Edelweiss challenge or in the COYER challenge, books can count towards more than one challenge, as long as the ones you use for the 2017 New Release Reading Challenge qualify to the other rules.
The minimum length for a book to qualify is 100 pages, it can be in any format though, physical, e-book, ARC or audiobook.

The New Book Release Challenge is open from January 1st through December 31st 2017, and sign-ups are open until February 15th 2017.

You don’t have to be a blogger to participate, you can link to your review on Goodreads or Booklikes instead – so don’t be shy!

There are five levels  in the New Release Challenge:
1-30 books per year – New Release Newbie
31-60 books per year – New Release Pro
61-100 books per year – New Release Veteran
101-200 books per year – New Release Enthusiast
200+ books per year – New Release Obsessed

TBR:


Finished:





Saturday, March 25, 2017

Stacking the Shelves/Weekly Update #138



Reviews:

Review: King's Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard
Review: Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon

Won:

Wool Omnibus Edition (Silo #1) by Hugh Howey


Library:
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
A List of Cages by Robin Roe


Friday, March 24, 2017

Review: King's Cage (Red Queen #3) by Victoria Aveyard

Summary from Goodreads:

In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl's spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother's web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare's heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

My Review:

What I Liked:

Writing. I enjoy Aveyard's writing style and love reading her prose. Even if I dislike some aspects of her novels like point of view I will still read them because of the writing.

Characters. The main thing I like about the Red Queen series and Aveyard's writing is her characters. The best character in this book was Maven, she did a great job of creating a great three-dimensional villain.

Powers. I love the different types of powers but I would have liked to see even more of them. I do think that the world-building was ten times better in this novel than the second one.

What I Disliked:

Pacing. I had a similar complaint with the second book because at parts of the novel it was hard to get through. It did not need to be over 500 pages and about 50 pages from the end I felt like it could have ended a lot earlier.

Plot. I'm glad that the plot picked up in the third novel because the second one seemed to drag. And now I'm intrigued to see how the fourth and final novel finishes up the story.

Point of View. My favorite point of view was Mare's and I was able to fly through her chapters.
However, I believe the novel should have been only from the point of view of Mare (or even Maven or Cal) because the chapters with Cameron's point of view were not as compelling as the others. 

I recommend checking out this series, the second book was my least favorite in the series but it is starting to get better.

My Rating:

3.5 Stars Out of 5 Stars

Friday Meme: Books/Movies/Games Coming Out This Month That I Want To Read/See/Play # 55

Books: Week of 3/26 and 4/2




Films: 

The Zookeeper's Wife - 3/31

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Wishlist Wednesday # 133



Wishlist Wednesday is where you show a book that has been on your wishlist/TBR list for a while, the meme is hosted by Pen to Paper.

 Summary from Goodreads:

For readers of Lena Dunham, Allie Brosh and Roxane Gay, this funny, poignant, daringly honest collection of personal essays introduces Mara Wilson—the former child actress best known for her starring roles in Matilda and Mrs. Doubtfire—as a brilliant new chronicler of the experience that is growing up young and female.
 
Mara Wilson has always felt a little young and a little out of place: as the only child on a film set full of adults, the first daughter in a house full of boys, the sole clinically depressed member of the cheerleading squad, a valley girl in New York and a neurotic in California, and one of the few former child actors who has never been in jail or rehab. Tackling everything from how she first learned about sex on the set of Melrose Place, to losing her mother at a young age, to getting her first kiss (or was it kisses?) on a celebrity canoe trip, to not being “cute” enough to make it in Hollywood, these essays tell the story of one young woman’s journey from accidental fame to relative (but happy) obscurity. But they also illuminate a universal struggle: learning to accept yourself, and figuring out who you are and where you belong. Exquisitely crafted, revelatory, and full of the crack comic timing that has made Mara Wilson a sought-after live storyteller and Twitter star, Where Am I Now? introduces a witty, perceptive, and refreshingly candid new literary voice.

My Notes:

I received this memoir for Christmas and want to finally read it. :)



Waiting on Wednesday # 134



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you pick a book that is coming out soon that you want to read.

 Summary from Goodreads:

A banished princess.
A deadly curse.
A kingdom at war.

Wil Heidle, the only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.

Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.

But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with her power.

With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

My Notes:

I'm interested in checking out DeStefano's new series, it sounds really good.